Nevada Ed-Watch 1/4/21

The Ed-Watch series is designed to increase access to information on what decisions are being made regarding public education in Clark County and Nevada.

Clark County School District Board of Trustees 

What is the Board of Trustees & what are they responsible for? The CCSD Trustees are publicly elected decision-makers for the school district. They are responsible for providing oversight to the Superintendent and establishing District-wide policy. Trustees are accountable to work with their communities to improve student achievement.

Click here to learn more and see a list of current Trustees

Click here to find your Trustee District

How often does the Board of Trustees meet? Trustees meet twice per month (second and fourth Thursdays) at 5 pm. While all meetings are typically held at the Edward A. Greer Education Center (Board Room): 2832 E. Flamingo Road, Las Vegas, NV 89121, all meetings are now held virtually due to the COVID-19 crisis. 

Click here for a full list of Trustees meetings and agendas

Click here to visit Hope For Nevada’s #NVEd Calendar

Can community members engage at Trustee Meetings? Decision-making bodies benefit greatly from hearing public input and multiple perspectives. Community members can sign up to speak after the agenda has been posted– by calling the Board Office at (702) 799-1072 at least 3 hours before the scheduled meeting, or signing up in-person at the beginning of the meeting. Prior to each agenda item being voted on, speakers can share their perspective after the Board’s discussion and prior to the vote.

Monday, January 4, 2021

Clark County School District Board of Trustees Meeting

Click here to see the meeting agenda

What happened at this meeting?

Public Comment

Members of the public submitted comments online. Public comment was not read directly into the record, rather an oral summary of each comment was provided to Trustees.

  • Click here to view public comment on agenda items.

New Trustees Took Oath of Office

Three newly-elected and one re-elected Clark County School Board Trustees were sworn into office to serve a four-year term. The newly-elected Trustees included Lisa Guzmán in District A, Katie Williams in District B, and Evelyn Garcia Morales in District C. President Lola Brooks returned to her position as Trustee for District E. The Trustees were sworn in by Judge Nancy Allf and Judge-Elect Nadia Krall of the Eighth Judicial District Court. 

To celebrate the induction of the Trustees, the meeting featured videos of student performances from Greenspun Middle School, Sunrise Mountain High School, Las Vegas Academy of the Arts, and Johnson Junior High School. 

The newly-elected and re-elected Trustees expressed their excitement for the future of their role. Sitting Trustees offered their congratulations, welcome, and words of advice.

Click here to read more about this in the Las Vegas Review-Journal
Click here to read more about this in The Nevada Independent

Sign up to receive a notification when a new Ed-Watch post is published: